THE VERY FLATULENT MONSTER BOOK

You know how you come across one of those books in your child’s life where you think, WOW what a rockin’ book! I love this! It’s a very rare occasion that this does happen for us parents. Kids books are cool for the first three times of reading them, after that, they suck big time.

Parents can read their kids ‘favourite’ books over and over and over, and every time we recite those words AGAIN, it sends us that tiny bit more insane in the membrane. I once read the Very Hungry Caterpillar 47 times in one day. To say I hate caterpillars is an understatement. I don’t even really like butterflies now. That book has ruined my outlook on insects.

So when I do find a kids book that both me and my son like, it’s like winning the lottery.

I wasn’t requested by the author to do a book review or anything…pffft, yeah as if that’s going to happen for free, but I did think it was my duty to let you guys know about this very awesome and funny book my son has.

It’s called……

‘THERE IS A MONSTER UNDER MY BED WHO FARTS’….

IMAG1178

And it’s so good. I mean, my son loves it. But us parents will get a chuckle out of it too. Most kids, if not all kids (plus adults with a good sense of humour), love a good fart story.

It’s about a small boy whose toy monster (although he believes it’s not a toy, just a real monster) farts constantly but everyone blames these farts on the boy.

IMAG1179Now the story line is of course very simple, but if you have kids that are at the ages of around 2 years old – 54 years old, they will find this simple plot very funny. Especially if the readers are male. Because we all know males laugh at very simple things……..a stand out of those simple things is of course, farts.

When my son received this book for his second birthday, my husband read the book before my son actually did. The chuckles and laughs were heard from afar. So of course when my son saw his Dad laughing his butt off, he wanted to get in among the action.

My son Reeve has a good sense of humour. But this book got him in stitches. If you really want to see your kid crap themselves laughing, make some fart noises whilst reading this book. It’s so worth it.

IMAG1180I can relate to a lot of the lines in this book too. I am a Mother. I live with two males, that stink more than normal. The bathrooms are a scary place to go after a male has entered them. I give it a good 35 minutes before I will even attempt to go near a bathroom or toilet after my husband or son has left these rooms.

IMAG1181

The image above is one of my favourite. Because, we have all been there. Wind down the windows douchebags!! That will help with the toxic gas explosion that has just happened.

IMAG1182

Even poor Nan gets mentioned in this book. Her birthday is ruined because of the monster blowing up balloons with his farts. I wouldn’t be pissed off Nan, that is actually a very impressive thing to be doing. If I was you I would be whipping out the iPhone and uploading this balloon farting blowing up thing on YouTube.

IMAG1184

The Mums face in this book is priceless. I can so relate to her. Besides Kanyes’, her ‘Resting Bitch Face’ is one of the best I have seen.

To date, I think I have read this book to my son around 129 times now. Yes, it is a lot, but I haven’t got sick of it yet. It’s a simple story line with not many words (yay for us parents!), great illustrations, and will make your kid laugh.

The only thing that could make this book better is one of those push sound buttons you see on some publications. But then again, maybe that would be incredibly annoying and drive us parents insane. Yeah, that’s a stupid idea. Sound buttons are crap.

If you haven’t heard of this book already, please do try and see if you can get it out. Even check it out at your local library. If you do have or read this book, what did you think of it? Please let me know in the Comments section below.

Love (as Reeve says),
Yes_Peas_Mumma_signature

xxoo

p.s.  You may get some funny looks if you read this out in public. I took this book when we were on a plane awhile ago, and the shocked looks I got from the surrounding people were hilarious! They should have counted their lucky stars that the fart noises were pretend……..or were they?

Linking up with Essentially Jess for #IBOT

18 thoughts on “THE VERY FLATULENT MONSTER BOOK

    1. Yep, all the boys in your family will love this one. I am glad it’s on your Christmas list. Yeah the green sheep book is okay I spose. I don’t hate it as it hasn’t driven me insane….yet.

      Like

  1. Man, I am such a prude! I can’t handle the word fart. I suspect though that it’d be a hit with my boys. I personally hate the Who Sank the Boat book, because my boys don’t get that it is a rhetorical question and always answer ‘the mouse’ like I’m so stupid that I can’t remember it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this book, some friends of my brother in law wrote and illustrated it so we were given it early on, much to my MIL’s angst… It changing up the story book reading quite a bit, if I have to read going on a bear hunt one more time…

    Like

  3. Ha, there are some children’s books that are fun and a breeze to read. The Hungry Caterpillar is not one of them.

    This however looks fantastic. My daughter is a farter, and I’m trying to develop more shared humour, and this looks like it would be perfect to encourage that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

