HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED!!

I recently have been thinking about when I was younger, and the standard-normal things that happened as a kid back then. Things like, how playing out on the road with the neighbours kids until the sun went down, was completely normal. The parents would be inside, probably drinking wine, and never checking on us. Just yelling out to us to “Dinner’s ready. Get inside!!!”, every 20 minutes.

Don’t get me wrong……I’m not having a go at parents back then. I am just saying that it was the ‘normal’ thing to do then. It hardly happens anymore though. Well, actually, I think the wine drinking still happens for most parents. But that innocence of leaving your kids outside for hours (depending on age and where you live) doesn’t. Out of your view. Where anything could happen – be it hoons in cars, or other kids bullying, or just horrible people stealing children.

So I did a bit of internet browsing to see the changes over the years with standard kid stuff. I write this as an Australian, and I know I have a few international readers, so forgive me if you have no freaking idea what I am talking about. Just laugh and comment anyway…..

THE CARSEAT
When I was a bub, it was all just ‘Chuck the kid in the back seat with the bassinet. Or just chuck them in the back seat with no seat belt’. None of this safety crap. “She’ll be right. Hell, why not let the kid drive! They need to learn some time anyway.” Every parent in the 80’s would be proud if their kid could drive by the time they got out of nappies (diapers).

How hilarious is it that in one generation, we have gone from this……..

Hands at 10 and nothing kid! Don't worry about putting both hands on the wheel....it's the 80's! (image from www.news.com.au)
(image from http://www.news.com.au)

Hands at 10 o’clock and nothing kid! Don’t worry about putting both hands on the wheel….it’s the 80’s!

to this……….

(image from www.cdc.gov)
(image from http://www.cdc.gov)

There are rules upon rules for kids and their carseats now . Makes sense obviously. But how times have changed!!!!

SOFT DRINK
I found this advertisment online yesterday and I couldn’t stop laughing. It is telling Mums to start giving their kid cola at an early age! It will make them gain acceptance and ‘fit-in’ easier when they grow up.

Ahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! Crazy man. Just crazy……….

daily_picdump_433_640_42

My Mum never had soft drink in the house (only on extremely rare occasions). So the only time I had it as a kid was when it was a friend’s birthday party. They thought it was best to put a dozen or so kids in one room,  give them a soft drink they hardly ever had, and just watch them. As you could imagine……we bounced off the walls for hours and gave our parents plenty of laughs while they drank their wine.

These days if you give your kid a soft drink, you may as well go to jail – according to society anyway. It’s the devil’s booze and you will be frowned upon by all. How times have changed!!!!

SUN AWARENESS
In Australia, we have the highest rate of sun cancer anywhere in the world Apparently the sun is hotter here. Weird. I thought everyone in the world had the same sun. But over here in Oz, it’s super deadly and you will be fried like an egg if you go outside for more than five minutes.

When I was young, we had an advertisement on TV called ‘Slip, Slop, Slap’. It was to make you aware that you had to put on sunscreen, a hat, and put on a shirt. Now, it’s advertised as ‘Slip, Slop, Slap, Seek & Slide’. They keep adding bits to it, as the sun over here is relentless and is getting more evil!

1980’s toddler outside wear was either nappy (diaper) with singlet or just go naked…….

(image from www.havebabywilltravel.com)
(image from http://www.havebabywilltravel.com)

Probably minus the hat though. Hats were only for special occasions when I was young. Actually. I don’t think I even owned a hat until I was a teenager.

In ten years if you want your kids to go outside in the sun in Australia, this is what they will have to wear…………..

(image from www.kidsdreamspot.com)
(image from http://www.kidsdreamspot.com)

The sun will be really deadly then. How times have changed!!!!

KID’S ENTERTAINMENT
Back in my day, if you wanted to play or be entertained, you had this…..

beach-ball-544_610or this….

images

or this…..

(image from www.eco-mothering.com)
(image from http://www.eco-mothering.com)

It was called imagination. And I had to use it a lot.

Now a lot of the time, it’s this…..

image from (www.digitaltrends.com)
image from (www.digitaltrends.com)

How times have changed!!!!

Don’t be offended in any way if you are a Mother from the 1980’s or a Mother from today. I’m not having a go at you. I am simply explaining, or showing how times have changed. All Mums do a good job no matter what the era. I just think it’s hilarious how man-kind changes their opinion and are more aware as time goes on.

It shows we learn as we go, just like our kids. Life goes on.

If you have a childhood memory that has significantly changed to your child’s era, please let me know.

You can leave your comments below, or also post on my Facebook page. Please SHARE and LIKE if you do enjoy reading :). I am also on Twitter and Instagram if you really want to love me.

Love (as Reeve says),
Yes_Peas_Mumma_signature

xxoo

p.s. Can you imagine when our kids are grown up and they are having kids. What the hell is it going to be like then?? I wonder if it will be illegal to even give your kid soft drink, or even drive in a car with them (without super extra padding on their body). Oh the wonder!

The Dad Network
Modern Dad Pages
Binky Linky
Friday Frolics
45 thoughts on “HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED!!

  1. So true! Let’s see, we used to walk through the bush to the park by ourselves to play on the swings from about age 8, then ride bikes up and down the footpaths until dark and trampolines had no nets so we were forever falling off them/getting stuck in the springs. Those were the days! (OMG, I’m getting old!). We’re totally going to be those parents saying to our kids ‘Back in our day’ aren’t we?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh yes!! The trampoline comment you said takes me back. I used to fall through the holes on my trampoline allllll the time! Or get pinched by the springs. I had a massive hole in my trampoline (because I used it so much), and the aim of the game was to jump over the hole. I can’t believe I never broke a bone.

      Yes Haidee. We are going to be those parents. “Back in my day, we had springs in our trampolines! None of this safety net shit you see these days”.

      xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha. My boys think safety nets are for throwing themselves into so they get bounced back. They’re rough as guts, the little one has already fallen off it because he decided to climb around the outside. Doh.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an interesting post! I can’t believe that coke AD, unbelievable, the things they got away with back then! My Dad used to go out all day as a kid with no mobile phones, I can’t imagine ever sending Archie off not knowing where he was, terrifying! #effitfriday

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!! That’s why I laughed so much. But then I went, Woah that’s bad. How did we ever do it without mobile phones either??

      Thanks for reading and commenting Kaye. xo

      Like

  3. Haha, great blog post! Mum often tells me of many a trip from Northam to Perth when I was a baby with me on her lap in the back seat, how things have changed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Phoebe!! So glad you commented 🙂

      How funny is it though? Mum always says that safety is just so different these days with kids and carseats. I remember being in the car going to school in Northam and not even wearing a seatbelt. It was like “Meh”, who cares.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Good to hear from you . xo

      Like

  4. Haha I love this! Soft drink – we used to get tizer, fizzy red sugar in a bottle. Hyper! And 5 kids to transport in a maestro no problem just extend the seatbelt over them so everyone has a bit.

    Now. I want to know what the seek and slide bit stands for?

    Thanks for linking with #effitfriday x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Seatbelts….”meh”, who cares – as everyone said in the 80’s! And fizzy drink! Wow, that stuff is like smoking drugs these days. How times have changed 🙂

      Thanks for tweeting too. As I said, Seek is for shade, and Slide is for Sunglasses! xo

      Like

  5. Love this and it’s so true! Times have changed! I wonder how we changed it that much? Thank you for linking on #effitfriday ….. Maybe that’s what we need to do and not be so overprotective all the time and just say effit 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am always telling my mom how easy she had it by just throwing us in the car and driving off…one time she drove off before I had the door shut and I fell out…not even joking. I hate having to go anywhere for the fact that I have to buckle in 3 kids. I long for the day of no more carseats. My kids all have tablets but I don’t limit their use and somehow this works in the fact that they play outside or spend hours using their imaginations building forts and playing hide and go seek. I have never been to Australia…it’s on my list of places. Love your blog and I have included you in my #FridaysTop5 http://domesticatedmomster.com/2015/06/05/fridays-top-5-65/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG Trista!! That’s funny, because that has happened to me before too!! It was my fault though. I couldn’t wait to get out of the car one day, so I just opened the door and jumped out. Lucky Mum was driving into the driveway, so she wasn’t going fast!!

      Yes, you will have to come visit us over here! Thanks for my mention on your FridaysTop5 too! Appreciate it. xo

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Sorry laughed far too much at you falling out the car. I don’t even remember car seats even for my younger siblings and I am 28 but my other half does and he is the same age… Not sure how that happened happened mind you I went to the city on my own at 13, he was 17 the first time… Things were changing but not quickly round my way apparently. I am lucky we have a small park right next to our house and kids still play out on their own , some only 5… Not mine I am a mean mummy

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Ha! That’s okay. Every one that I tell that story too, they laugh too :). We have a park up the road from us too, but I always see kids there with their parents. Even for the older ones.

        Thanks for reading. xo

        Like

  7. Excellent post. I remember buying sweet cigarettes, white with red tips, and walking home “smoking”. They’re now sweet sticks with no red tips. No one thought anything of it in the 70’s. And I walked home from infants school on my own! #binkylinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember those things!! They were called Fags in my day. Then they changed them to Fads, as the word fag was offensive. And then, they took the red mark off. The world is a bit fragile sometimes I think.

      I always walked to school when I was young. Every day from Year 1 to my last year in high school. You hardly ever see kids walking to school now.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. xo

      Like

  8. Great post. I wish I could go back to the days of playing in the streets until it started to get dark, climbing up trees, walking in rivers and sitting in a field of flowers eating ice lollies. Nowadays it is a lot of gadgets, tv screens and having to keep your eye on your child all the time when away from home. Thanks for linking up to the #BinkyLinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. I wish that too. I think it does depend on where you live and how old your kids are, but it won’t ever be the same it was when I was growing up.

      Thanks for reading. xo

      Like

  9. Oh wow, where to begin. How about swimming in our dam that was some distance from our house for hours at a time using a 44 gallon drum cut in half as a raft? Or galloping full tilt on our horses across paddocks of knee high grass (who knows what was in the grass)? Or learning to drive when I was 10 and having to sit on a pillow so I could see over the dashboard? Or only coming home for meals (and lunch was optional)? And all of this while parents were no where to be seen. While some of the changes have been for the better (ie sunscreen), others are not so much (ie technology overload). As a modern day parent, I find I spend a lot of time trying to find the balance between how it used to be and how it is today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that is an eye-opener Sami! Swimming in a rusty, dirty 44 gallon drum. I can just see you in it now :).

      Yep, it’s all changed. Some good, some not so good. I agree with trying to balance between now and then. I have to be a bit relaxed with parenting (like they used to in my day), but also open up to new things that they introduce in the world today.

      Thanks for commenting. xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

