HATS OFF TO ALL THE SINGLE PARENTS

My husband just recently left to go overseas for work. We had to explain it to our 2 year old, and he was cool with it……until Dad left, and Mum (me) had to deal with the questions, the tears, the asking where ‘Daddy is’, and the heartbreaking feeling I had as a Mum trying to explain.

I was quite nervous this time while the hubby was away, only because Reeve was at an age where he realises what is happening more now. He questions everything. And I mean everything! We haven’t got to the ‘Why?’ stage yet. But we are at the ‘What’s that Mummy?’ stage…..

Him: “What’s that Mummy?”
Me: “That would be a plant Reeve”
Him: “What’s that Mummy?”
Me: “That would be the same plant Reeve”
Him: “What’s that Mummy?”
Me: “I’m done with this game mate”

The rosemary plant that so easily confuses Reeve.
The rosemary plant that so easily confuses Reeve.

So you could imagine the questions I was going to have to answer, repeatedly, about where Dad was.

I was also nervous because I wasn’t going to get my daily break from my kid when my husband came home at the end of the day. I actually had to look after my child for a straight 144 hours! OH. MY. SHIT!

I WAS SCARED TO LOOK AFTER MY CHILD BY MYSELF!

That is the simple truth. I know it sounds silly and irresponsible. But my kid loves his Dad so much. I knew it was going to be hard as the ‘fill-in Dad’.

Looking back, my Mum raised me as a single parent. And I definitely take my hat off to her. My Mum did so much for me when I was young and growing up. SO MUCH. She did have some help from her parents (my Nan and Pop), but it was still a kick-arse huge task!

I just can’t imagine how single parents do it. I mean, I know they have to. There is no other choice. But they must looooove the end of the day when the kids are asleep in bed. God, I looooove it. But they must really, really, really loooooooove it.

I got nothing on this chick.
I got nothing on this chick.

I am counting down the hours and seconds until Matt comes home. I think Reeve has to start calming me down, and reassure me Daddy is coming back. I am such a big sook.

I hate it when family is away. Especially overseas. That is just too many kilometres away from my actual body. I feel helpless when the people I love get on planes and leave. See? I am the biggest sook ever.

So, I will struggle on and be the single parent for another 100 hours. To tell you the truth, Reeve has been quite good since Daddy left. Hard work, but still quite good.

Thanks to all the single parents out there. You guys rock. I have no idea how you do it, but you guys are awesome! Sorry about my complaining over nothing. You could probably look after a kid 144 hours straight with your eyes closed, hands tied, drunk and having a nap at the same time.

Let me hear any of your comments below. Are you a single parent? Or are you just a big sook like me when hubby goes away? You can also post on my Facebook page. Please SHARE and LIKE if you do enjoy reading :). I am also on Twitter and Instagram if you really want to love me.

Love (as Reeve says),
Yes_Peas_Mumma_signature

xxoo

p.s. Reeve has been incredibly affectionate since Matt left though. He strokes my face and says “I love you Mummy”. I have cried on many occasions, but mainly because of this one. He is the bloody cutest kid :).

Mummascribbles

Modern Dad Pages
18 thoughts on “HATS OFF TO ALL THE SINGLE PARENTS

  1. Been there, it’s not fun or easy. With deployments and shorter times away, we went through three years of dad being away for about 6 months of each of those years. And at the hard time of our eldest not understanding the concept of time. Didn’t matter whether it was one week or six months, to him, dad was away and he didn’t understand why. Call on friends, make dinners easy (cereal is totally acceptable if it’s been a rough day) and don’t put too much pressure on yourself. You’ll be surprised how strong you actually are though. I don’t know how full time single parents do it either. Here’s cheers to them for being amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that would be super hard for you guys. My husband doesn’t really go away much, so I get all sooky when he does. Thanks for your advice :). Toast and cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner!! xo

      Like

  2. Totally agree. I am rarely alone looking after our baby for more than an hour or two. Even for such short periods of time I often get into bother. Not to mention nappy changes have become a nightmare recently and need two or more people!

    #twinklytuesday

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I should really toughen up a bit. But I hate my husband going away. My son is really lovely, and not hard to look after (most of the time), but I still feel better when I have another person helping!!

      Oh yes, the nappy changes. Reeve is fine now, but he used to be very difficult to change too. That will pass in time.

      Thanks for reading. xo

      Like

  3. I don’t envy you its hard when you’re used to hvaing two people then suddenly its one, but you’re lucky you have such a lovely and affectionate little boy! #twinklytuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Totally agree with you! Really don’t know how single parents survive! My hubby went over seas for a couple of days for work, and I was tearing my hair out by the end!! Hang in there Mummy! #twinkletuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m a single mother and in my (very specific) experience, being an honest-to-goodness single mom is far easier than being married ever was. Like you, my husband was often overseas, so I did function as a single mother to some extent. It’s SO much easier, though, not to have to take care of him, protect the kids from him, worry about him, and be able to focus on my girls.

    I also think that it just being the 3 has been a contributor to my very close relationship with each of my girls. I genuinely enjoy my time with them. Yes, when they were infants and so needy, the rare moments when both were asleep were heaven, but these days I can’t wait to get home and find out what brilliant observations they’ve made over the course of the day.

    Now, as far as the “what’s that” and “why” stage, I’ve read that what our children are really saying is, “tell me more about that.” They just don’t have the vocabulary to do so. Thanks for the reminder to share a post I wrote on that topic when my big girls were toddlers.

    Thanks for linking with #TwinklyTuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks Sadia. Yes, can see where you are coming from 🙂

    I’m glad you have a close relationship with your girls. It is nice to have some time with just your kids. It makes the relationship stronger I think.

    I usually explain more to Reeve when he asks “What’s That?”. If I know that he knows what it is, I will say “What do you think it is?”, and he will always answer correctly. He just sometimes gets a bit silly :).

    Thanks for reading. xo

    Like

  7. Ahhh, thanks. I am a single mum and it is rare that I receive compliments. I usually just receive sympathy or awkwardness because people do not know what to say about your separation.

    The thing about being a single Mum, if you are lucky enough to have an involved Dad, is that you do actually get a little bit of time to yourself, without your child, usually once a week. It is really strange though – I often panic that I have lost my babba and then remember that he is with his Daddy, and then I miss him because he is not with me. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well my love, you deserve lots of compliments! I am on my last day as a ‘single parent’, and I am VERY TIRED! I know…whinge, whinge.

      Yes, that is a good point. I have a friend who has separated from her partner and she gets every 2nd weekend off, when the kids stay with their Dad. That’s a bonus! Yeah we all miss our kids when they aren’t with us. We want a break….we get one…we miss them. Can’t win really :).

      Thanks for reading. xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

