I SAID DON’T CLIMB ON THE FURNITURE CHILD!

So lately in my household, (out in nature, at the shops, almost every moment of the day), you will hear me say to my 2 year old,…

“Stop climbing on the furniture!”
“Don’t stand on your bike seat!”
“Get off the table!”
“Do you remember what happened last time you did that???!!!”

He was never ever a climber. Now all that has changed. Do you want to know what his response is back to me?

“I’m a boy Mum”.

He has got a point you know. A point I don’t know how to control.

Honestly, he falls over and smacks his head on everything these days. Glad they make them tough when they are little as we may have a bit of a problem on our hands.

I know every parent has their kid fall, scrape, bang, smash parts of their body on anything that’s around them, but it’s the constant sound of my voice telling him to STOP that is driving me insane!!

“REEVE! You will break your head if you do that”.
“Watch what you are doing!! You will wreck your face, or my table, or both if you do that”.
“OH MY GOD! How the hell did you get up there??!!”

I even go the whole reverse psychology/threatening thing on him….

“Okay, whatever. If you fall, don’t come crying to me”.
“That lady over there will come and tell you off if you don’t sit down”.

I am beginning to hate the sound of my own voice.

I’m a bad Mother apparently because I didn’t let him climb this humungous tree. Notice the graze on his forehead? That happened only 4 hours earlier. I’m such an unfair Mother.

I have had plenty of people tell me that this ‘stage’ of a boy’s life doesn’t really disappear, it probably just gets worse as they get older. Yay for me (*sarcastic tone).

I really do love how Reeve is adventurous and enjoys running; and climbing; and jumping; and kicking pretend monsters; and screaming “I’M A BOY MUM” whilst running through a flock of dirty pidgeons; and going full battle axe at anything, but it just makes me worry more as a parent.

The 'I-headbutted-the-windowsill-and-got-a-black-eye' incident.
The ‘I-headbutted-the-windowsill-and-got-a-black-eye’ incident.

The photo above was a few months ago now. He was jumping on his bed – which is now banned (and actually was never allowed in the first place), and hit his head/eye ball on his bedroom windowsill. The blackness and swelling was instant! The thoughts running through my head were also instant….

+ OH NO! I’m a shit Mother/Protector/Guider/Person who was supposed to be there.
+ Is he okay?
+ Will there be concussion?
+ This is going to look bad.
+ This is going to look bad in public.
+ Prepare to be judged Kelly.

He was so fine after this injury though. He cried for a few minutes then calmed down immediately. We iced it, and he enjoyed the whole ‘Doctor Play’ for a bit. But both Matt and I felt a bit awful for allowing it to happen.

We sat him down and explained what had just happened, and ‘We are not to jump on the bed or furniture anymore, okay??’. His response was,

“Okay. I’m a boy Mum”.

Oh for God sakes child.

This bright, shiny new mark on my baby’s head was now going to be awkward out in public. I actually preferred people commenting or asking about it, instead of getting some weird looks from strangers.

They would have to see he is two years old. He is a boy. And has no sense of danger yet. Wouldn’t they see that, instead of looking at me like I am some sort of mad woman?

So for all the parents out there that have adventurous and spirited kids, and for all the parents who had kids like that too (and survived their crazy and dangerous ways)…..I know you know where I am coming from.

We will embrace the ‘climber’ in our kids, but it would be so much easier and less to worry about if they just kept both bloody feet on the floor for a bit longer.

Danger_has_no_meaning_quote

Love (as Reeve says),
Yes_Peas_Mumma_signature

xxoo

p.s. After all the ‘No Fear’ stuff that Reeve does, he still freaks out if I do the whole ‘I-took-your-nose’ trick. He will honestly get so upset that you took his nose without permission. Maybe I will have to start bribing him with that once he starts doing stupid dangerous stuff.

Modern Dad Pages

Mummascribbles

14 thoughts on “I SAID DON’T CLIMB ON THE FURNITURE CHILD!

  1. Haha, we have accidents practically every day! The worst one was him falling head first off his high chair at his 1st birthday party! In front of everyone! OMG. Lol. It gets worse … Much, much worse *evil cackle* 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gosh…. children! my bub is only 7 months and already having accidents, she likes to pull herself up on everything, including the things that fall over easily… like lamps lol If she is anything like her dad she is going to be very accident prone! Sometimes Im glad I have a girl, boys would be even harder to contain! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Luisa. I get told boys are a touch more adventurous than girls (but not necessarily either). You will have lots to look forward to…..bruises, cuts, egg heads…..all those lovely injuries 😉
      Thanks for reading. xo

      Like

    1. They do don’t they? I hate being judged, especially when people think I have been a shit mother.
      Thanks for reading Alice. xo
      p.s. Let’s hope your music toy campaign works :)….#nomoreweirdtoymusic

      Like

  3. We have a monkey-like climber on our hands too. Scary! My wife plans to make the most of it and send him up the rock climbing walls when he’s big enough to wear a harness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have actually gotten used to his climbing since writing this post. He still scares me with his antics, but they are becoming more familiar :). Yes, I know. They grow up waay too fast. Thanks for reading. xo

      Like

  4. It’s tough, isn’t it? I finally gave in and got an trampoline, which has been enormously helpful in giving my daughter J a place to be as physical as she wants to be in a relatively safe space.

    Thanks for linking with #TwinklyTuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

